Flood Mitigation Assistance Grant Program


The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Grant Program provides funds towards measures that can be taken to reduce or eliminate risk of flood damage to buildings insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Funding is available on an annual basis (as appropriated).

Cost Share:

  • 75% (Federal) / 25% (Non-Federal)
  • 90% (Federal) / 10% (Non-Federal) - repetitive loss (RL)* property
  • 100% (Federal) - severe repetitive loss (SRL)* property

*Repetitive Loss: A structure that has incurred flood-related damage on two (2) occasions, in which the cost of the repair, on average, equaled or exceeded 25% of the market value of the structure at the time of each such flood event.

*Severe Repetitive Loss: A structure has at least four (4) flood-related damages claims payments (including building and contents) over $5,000 each, and the cumulative amount of such claims payments exceeds $20,000.

Eligible Sub-Applicants:

  • State Agencies
  • Local Governments
  • Tribal Governements