Rhode Island Community Rating System

The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary program that recognizes and encourages a community's efforts that exceed the NFIP minimum requirements for floodplain management. The CRS program emphasizes three goals: the reduction of flood losses, facilitating accurate insurance rating, and promoting the awareness of flood insurance. By participating in the CRS program, communities can earn a 5-45% discount for flood insurance premiums based upon the activities that reduce the risk of flooding within the community.

Benefits provided to the community are inclusive but not limited to:

  • Enhanced public safety
  • A reduction in damage to property and public infrastructure
  • Avoidance of economic disruption and losses
  • Reduction of human suffering and/or loss of life
  • Protection of the environment

The 2017 CRS Coordinator's Manual is the guidebook for the CRS and establishes the criteria for CRS Classification. It explains the Activities and Elements of the program, how credit is calculated, and what provides eligibility for credit. Communities can also use the manual as a guide for designing and improving their floodplain management programs.

The State of Rhode Island currently has ten (10) communities participating in CRS. The participating Rhode Island communities and the premium reduction they receive are below:

Community Entrance Date Class Discount (%)
Bristol 5/1/2013 7 15
Charlestown 5/1/2015 7 15
East Providence 5/1/2014 8 10
Middletown 4/1/2000 8 10
Narragansett 10/1/2007 7 15
Newport 10/1/2017 7 15
North Kingstown 10/1/1993 9 5
Pawtucket 10/1/2014 8 10
Warwick 10/1/2016 9 5
Westerly 5/1/2013 7 15